The Five Stages of Learning SBL Silat (5 Parts)

The Five Stages of Learning SBL Silat

Part 1: The Foundation - Sikap

In the first installment of our series, we delve into the essential starting point in SBL Silat - Sikap. ‘Sikap' translates as ‘posture’ and is the foundational stage. It focuses on building a robust and stable base through proper stances and postures. Just as a strong foundation is critical for any structure, Sikaps is key to your journey in SBL Silat. We'll explore the significance of these postures and how they form the basis for your future progress.

Part 2: Jurus: Solo Forms

Moving forward, we enter the second stage - Jurus. Here, we dive into the world of solo forms, intricate sequences of movements that demand precision and discipline. These forms are not just physical exercises; they are a means to develop mental fortitude and focus. We'll uncover the secrets behind perfecting these forms and how they shape you as a martial artist.

Part 3: Jurusan: Partner Forms in SBL Silat

As we progress, we reach the third stage - Jurusan. This phase marks the transition from solo practice to working with partners. In Jurusan, you'll explore the dynamics of martial arts through partner forms. We'll discuss the importance of this stage in understanding real-life combat scenarios and how it bridges the gap between solo training and practical application.

Part 4: Main: Controlled Sparring in SBL Silat

In our penultimate installment, we focus on the "main" which translates as 'play' stage, characterised by controlled sparring. This phase requires you to apply your skills in real-time against opponents, fostering adaptability and quick thinking. We'll delve into the supervised and controlled environment of Main, emphasising the role of instructors and how this stage prepares you for the unpredictable nature of combat.

Part 5: Mati: Full-Contact Sparring in SBL Silat

Our final destination in the SBL Silat journey is "Mati," full-contact sparring. This stage represents the ultimate test of your SBL Silat abilities. Here, you'll face the highest level of challenge and confrontation. We'll explore how Mati pushes your limits, hones your instincts, and showcases your martial art prowess.

Throughout this blog post series, we will reveal the profound philosophy and practical wisdom embedded in SBL Silat's five stages of learning. Whether you're an SBL Silat practitioner or simply intrigued by martial arts, these stages offer valuable lessons that extend beyond self-defense into the realms of discipline, focus, and personal growth.

A wealth of resources to help you master and develop your knowledge and skill in Pencak Silat.

Get inspired weekly

Follow us